The Law Office of Richard Vaznaugh

Filing an Unemployment Claim – Nevadan


Please select a topic below:


n 1. Am I eligible to receive benefits?n

You must be totally or partially unemployed through no fault of your own, and you must have earned sufficient wages in your base period (the first 4 of the last 5 completed calendar quarters before the start date of your claim, or alternatively the last 4 quarters for some). Also, you must be able and available for full-time work.

n 2. How do I apply for benefits in Nevada?n

You can apply online or over the phone by contacting your local Claims Center.

n 3. How much will I receive?n

Your weekly benefit amount will be 1/25, or 4%, of your highest quarter earnings. This amount cannot be more than the maximum weekly benefit amount, which is set by law each year, beginning July 1.

n 4. How long will I receive these benefits?n

The length of time that you will receive benefits is also based on how much you made during the base period, but not more than 26 weeks.

n 5. After I start receiving benefits, what do I have to do to remain eligible?n

You must continue to file weekly either online or by telephone. Also, you must continue to be able and available for full-time work. You must actively seek employment, while keeping a record of your work search activities (forms to help you do so can be found in the Claimant Handbook). Finally, you must accept suitable work.

n 6. I was turned down for benefits. How do I appeal this decision?n

Your appeal must be filed within 11 days of the date the decision was mailed to you. You may appeal the decision by sending a letter to the address shown on the decision requesting an appeal. Additionally, you must keep filing your weekly claims regularly because you will only be paid for weeks you filed if you win your appeal.

n 7. For more information on Nevada’s unemployment insurance laws:n

Visit the State of Nevada Website

Read the Claimant Handbook

n Accordion Titlen Accordion Content